The Vets at Hope Green: Part One Escape to the Country by Sheila Norton

“Even my undercurrents of anxiety about Rufus and about Nana herself –whose repeated assurances that she wasn’t lonely without my granddad didn’t fool me –were, in a way, helping to take my mind off my bigger worries. But I knew they weren’t going to go away. I was only taking a holiday from them, after all, and when I returned home they were still going to be there.”

I was just getting into this book, I’d had a bit of a bubble at one point (a sad bit) and was settled in for a good read. So it was like running off a cliff when I got to the last paragraph. I am now waiting for part 2 to be released so I can see what comes next.

Sam is a vet receptionist in London. She is disenchanted with life and doesn’t know what she wants to do next. Yes, Sam has her fantasies, but doesn’t everyone dream of a rosy future.

A chance remark by her boyfriend makes Sam rethink her holiday plans and she winds up going to her Nana’s instead of her boyfriends parents for her Easter holiday.

There she settles into village life so quickly and totally, that it seems Sam might end up staying there. But, the tale ends while Sam is still just on holiday. So I am waiting to see still.

This is an enjoyable read, however, it feels more like it should be part of a bigger work along with the rest of the story (to follow) and I felt a little cheated when I came to the end.

I received an e-ARC of this novel through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. NetGalley does not allow for paid reviews.

4/5 Stars (What this means…five-stars-applied-carefully)

Get your copy [click on the image for more information]:

Read it on Kindle [click on the image for more information]:

Official description:
Description
PART ONE of a heartwarming and inspiring story about living the simple life and the joy of animals. Perfect for fans of Appleby Farm, Ivy Lane and Alfie the Doorstep Cat

Working as a receptionist in a London vets, Sam is living far from her idea of a simple life. She’s always broke, rents a tiny flat and is constantly arguing with her boyfriend. But the worst part is that her career is going nowhere. She wants to be a vet, but the most contact time with the animals she has is a quick hello when she books in their next appointment.

Something’s got to give, so when her parents suggest visiting her Nana Peggy in a small quiet picturesque village, she agrees, thinking a bit of R&R could do her good.

But rest and relaxation may not be the order of the day. Poor Nana Peggy’s lovely dog Rufus is unwell, and Sam can’t help but grow fond of him. With the help of Joe the local vet, a charming yet strangely distant man, Sam sets out on looking after him, despite her London life trying to call her back…

Look out for Part 2 coming soon!

Save on your mobile:
Get a free giffgaff Sim

Leave a Reply

