The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

“I am going to do my best to be normal, all day. That is my challenge to myself. I do not want anybody to guess the truth about me. I look down at my left hand. I have written BE NORMAL on it. I see Agi looking at it too. ‘I should also remind myself of this sometimes,’ she says, with a nod.”

I thought this book would be a bit childish seeing as the main character has been kept at the age of 10, despite her being 17 physically.

However, Flora is not what I expected her to be. She is not afraid to explore her world, despite her memory being restricted to what she has written down (on her hand, her arm or in her notebook & sometimes on one of many post-it’s)!

Flora kisses Drake, her best friend’s boyfriend. Drake then leaves to the Arctic to embark on a new course, which is being taught in English.

When Flora’s parents leave on a trip, Flora decides to go in search of Drake to find out what else she can remember.

The adventure starts before she leaves, when her parents go on their trip, but I don’t want to spoil the book for you. It continues in the Arctic up until she ends up back at home.

This is an engaging tale, written as Flora sees it. It isn’t boring, though you might think it would be, seeing as Flora cannot remember anything. I think that hearing the story from Flora’s viewpoint adds depth to the storytelling and I found it very engaging. I read most of it in one sitting, then finished the small remaining portion of the book in a second sitting a couple of days later. I would probably have read it in one go if I hadn’t started reading it so late in the day! I heartily recommend this book to you.

I received an e-ARC of this novel through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. NetGalley does not allow for paid reviews.

5/5 Stars (What this means…five-stars-applied-carefully)

Get your copy [click on the image for more information]:

Read it on Kindle [click on the image for more information]:

Official description:
You always remember your first kiss.
Flora remembers nothing else…
“I look at my hands. One of them says ‘Flora, be brave’. I am Flora.”
Flora has anterograde amnesia. She can’t remember anything day-to-day: the joke her friend made, the instructions her parents gave her, how old she is.

Then she kisses someone she shouldn’t have kissed – and the next day she remembers it. The first time she’s remembered anything since she was ten.

But the boy is gone.

Desperate to hold onto the memory, she sets off to the Arctic to find him.

Why can she remember Drake? Could he be the key to everything else she’s forgotten?

Save on your mobile:
Get a free giffgaff Sim

Leave a Reply

