Skip to content

Five things to take with you when you go for lipofilling on your breast

July 3, 2011

This is as much a reminder for me as it is a list for you, the reader. I find that my memory doesn’t seem to want to work so well sometimes (I could say it’s chemo-brain, but I think it’s too long since I had it, to get away with that!).

Let’s see what I can come up with

1. Paperwork – you’ll need the consent form (if they send it in advance), complete with all your allergies, previous medical treatments, doctors details and your other key information. If they didn’t send the form in advance, make sure to take all this information with you.

2. Change of clothes – this time I’m going in as a day patient, but I’m still intending on taking a change of clothes in case I’m kept in overnight (heard that if the anaesthetic has a profound effect on me, this could be likely!). So that would be nightdress (not too tight over the upper torso, underwear, not my favourite bra (indelible ink does not come out of favourite bras!) and MAGIC PANTS for after the op. I’m also taking a bra extender (easy to find when you are a BraLady!) so that I can wear my bra a bit looser after my surgery for a while. I was told that if I needed a post-surgery bra, the hospital would provide one (which saves me taking one of my stock items and having to replace it).

3. Wash bag – whatever you like to take in yours, take! I’ll be taking the usual bathroom accessories, along with a towel.

4. Emergency Cash – last time I didn’t take much cash with me, not that there was a shop to spend it in. But if I’d had access to some funds I may have been tempted to try and get a taxi home. So it’s always useful to have access to some emergency funds.

5. Mobile phone – mine was so much a life saver! I was able to organise my escape, sorry – lift, from the hospital back to home. It also kept me occupied with writing my blog and playing brain train games.

And, the list recommended on the hospital website pretty much covers all that (see below):

  • Nightclothes
  • Dressing-gown
  • Slippers
  • Personal toiletries (including soap, toothbrush, face cloths, shampoo, comb, hair brush and talcum powder)
  • Bath and hand towel
  • Soft drinks (I’ll also be taking some individually wrapped “green tea” teabags)
  • Reading material
  • Tissues

Some “if appropriate” items:

  • Spectacles/personal aids
  • Denture pot and cleaner
  • Sanitary towels/tampons
  • Disposable razors
  • Shaving cream
  • Small amount of money for newspapers etc

As a footnote, I was handed some leaflets at my pre-op assessment which recommended a good scrubby-up bath and hairwash before you go in, to minimise the bugs that are taken in with you on your body. I’ll be taking that advice of course.

See you on the other side!

20120101-200511.jpg

Leave a Reply

